AGT 2012 Awardee is Leah Paquiz

A member of the Beta Nu Delta Nursing Society  was chosen as this year’s recipient of the country’s most prestigious award for those in the nursing profession.

Leah Paquiz, RN, Ed.D was named the 30th Anastacia Giron Tupas Awardee” by the Philippine Nurses Association (PNA) for her distinguished leadership in the nursing profession.”

Dr. Paquiz received the award during the 2012 National Annual Convention of nurses, which also coincided with the 55rd Nurses Week celebration held recently at the Manila Hotel.

The honor is the highest award given annually by the PNA in honor of the late Anastacia Giron Tupas, regarded as the dean of the Filipino nurses, who founded the PNA, then the Filipino Nurses Association, on Sept. 2, 1922.

The PNA said that the Anastacia Giron Tupas Award was conceived not only to honor its founder “but to remind us of the uniqueness and nobility of our profession as exemplified by the recipients of the award.” 

Other BNDee who became an AGT awardee was Dr Remedios Fernandez in 1997