DDB Student Nursing Leadership Awardees 2008

General Santos City, Philippines - Two young women were awarded the Darlene Dilangalen Borromeo Student Nursing Leadership Award 2008. The conferment was made during a dinner dubbed "Nightingales on Christmas" at the plush Grab-A-Crab Resto in General Santos City.

“The outstanding academics and commitment to greatness among this year’s candidates, put forth superior examples of what it is to truly be a DDB Awardee,” said Nellie Canda, RN, RM, the night's keynote speaker.

Likewise, Mairelle Paje, RN opened her statement with a wealth of encouragement on the part of the outstanding students "to inspire others".

The awardees for 2008 were Margareth June Yaphockun of Notre Dame of Dadiangas University and Chiara Veragar of Davao Doctors College. Both were senior BSN students.

Ms. Yaphockun was happy that such recognition came and she said "to be a leader is to serve". She was so passionate to lead others as well as serving them in the process. On the other Ms. Vergara was so thankful that the Society is doing this kind of project "to recognize deserving students".

Capping the night's event was a presentation of Beta Nu Delta Nursing Society's 2007-2008 achievements. The presence of two Society's founding members was also an occasion to look forward to. Br. Francis Deposa and his wife Eleanor, both nurses, graced the occasion.

Also a ceremonial toast to the awardees was made after the last year's recipient, Clyde Baculio, gave his piece whose speech focused on "the imminent responsibility that is attached to the awards bearers".

The Darlene Dilangalen Borromeo Student Leadership Award is one of the two (2) flagship projects under the Darlene Dilangalen Borromeo Leadership Development Program. The other being the Annual Student Nursing Leadership Training held on April of each year.

As an accomplished New Jersey nurse leader, Mr. Borromeo is an honorary member of the Beta Nu Delta Nursing Society as well as a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International's chapter at William Patterson University.

Photos to follow